Golaço!

To finish the trifecta of self-reflection for the New Year and also because I can only write unimaginative things because of the most inflamed and painful sinuses I have ever had, here are some things I’d like to achieve in the next year. I’m not going to beat myself up if I don’t do all of this, but it’s useful to have some focus. Also, I really like lists.

wp-1483567905564.jpg
Have I gushed about magic whiteboards yet? They are the best and I love them and want them around me at all times
  1. Write! The whole point of this blog – I’m going to try and write something every day. I love writing, and always have, but haven’t yet found my voice. I’m hoping that if I keep to the discipline of one piece every day, even a trifling list like this, I can develop a style that’s engaging and create work that has a point. (I’m not very good at points – my tendency is to waffle round a subject I’m interested in and not conclude anything concrete from these wafflings. ) This probably has something to do with the fact that I think while I talk, rather than before. Perhaps this process will change that.
  2. Music! My goal is to write more songs. I have a hit rate of about 3 or 4 a year. This is not a lot. I get hung up on perfection, on capturing the spirit of the idea in my head in the best way possible. In 2017, I’d like to get to the point where I can throw lots of songs out there and have lots of them fail, and still end up with 3 or 4 songs in the repertoire. (This is also writing, I guess. There’s a theme here.)
  3. Relationships! I said in my post that I owed lots of people emails. And I still do! Life is busy, yo. But I say it again – I would like to be better this year at visits and seeing people and catching up.
  4. Travel! I haven’t travelled nearly enough in the last few years, mostly thanks to a lack of disposable income. I have a list of places I’d like to go to, which I’m going to save for another lazy list post.
  5. Career! I’m pretty good at fundraising and while it’s still interesting, I’m not completely sure it’s what I want do forever. I’m luckily currently in a workplace, where there seem to be opportunities to develop in a different direction, which I’m keen to take. So, a vague aim – by the end of the year, I’d like to have a better idea of what I want to be when I grow up.

Right, 5 things, nearly 500 words, it must be Ibruprofen and sleep time. May Lord Azrael spare your life until we meet again.

Leave a Reply

